Parent Resources

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

Common Core

What is Common Core? Common Core is the set of national standards that is adopted by California and forty-four other states in the US. The new standards come with a new assessment, SMARTER Balanced. Starting in 2014-2015, students in grades 3-6th will take the new SMARTER Balanced test, and will no longer take the STAR test. In addition, by 2014, students in all grade levels need to learn the Common Core standards and not the current standards.

The Common Core standards and SMARTER Balanced Test  will require students to use the 4 C's:

  • Communicate
  • Collaborate
  • Critical thinking
  • Creativity


These are important skills that students must develop to succeed in the future. I will be doing parent workshops and giving more information on Common Core in the future.